Wrong # in phone book

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by cajunboy, Dec 7, 2004.

1. cajunboy

cajunboy LawnSite Member

This is my first year in the business and placed ad in the yellow pages and when the books came out this fall. In one book my ad was listed twice in yellow pages one with the correct number and once with the wrong number. And then in the white pages a totally different number. 3 different numbers. In the other book it was correct in the yellow but still wrong in the white. They still want me to pay for the one book that has the yellow pages right. A new book doesn't come out until september so this will be my first full year in the business. I am not going to pay them a penny because I feel they have cost me alot of business. Do you think I have the right to some kind of compensation. I have never sued anyone and am not a sue type person but I have a family to feed (5 boys). Or should I just try again next year. Thanks for your comments

2. Fantasy Lawns

Fantasy Lawns LawnSite Bronze Member

They can have all those numbers call forwarded to the correct number

3. work_it

work_it LawnSite Senior Member

I can see where you would have a strong legal case. The question is, "How much did the ad cost you?" The reason I ask is it's the difference between small claims court where you can represent yourself, or finding a lawyer. Take into consideration that they have the money to drag it out in court as long as they want which will end up costing you a ton of money in lawyers fees. Even if you also try to include your lawyers fees in the law suit there's always a chance that you either won't win the case, or you win the case and won't be rewarded the reimbursement for the fees.

I would try to work out something with them where you pay 60% of the ad with the correct number.

4. cajunboy

cajunboy LawnSite Member

They tried and the numbers were taken already and they were not willing to give them up so the phone company said.

5. work_it