Yazoo/Kees quality, price, durability? Deal?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Shannon Keller, Aug 15, 2006.

1. Shannon Keller

Shannon Keller LawnSite Member

I found a dealer that is looking to unload 3 Yazoo/kees for what he say is only $200 above his cost. They are Midmax's with 21hp Kawasaki's and 52'' deck. He's
    asking $5700. I would like to know if this is a good buy, or is he just blowing smoke. I have no experience with Yazoo, so any input would be helpful.

2. MMLawn

MMLawn LawnSite Gold Member

ohhhhh nooooo.....here comes ENVY :laugh:

3. Shannon Keller

Shannon Keller LawnSite Member

BTW, they are $5700 each, new 2005, they've only seen sun and concrete.

4. ThirdDay

ThirdDay LawnSite Senior Member

Envy will tear Yazoo/Kees and Husqvarna apart as he had bad experiences with them.

Our history with Yazoo/Kees is fairly short (1 year) but we love our 52" 21 HP Mid Max mowers! We have 2 of them and they cut great and have been trouble free. Good dealer support is a huge key and we have 2 awesome Kees dealers in our area now.

BTW..we paid $5800 each for our units and the dealer through in the suspension seats!

5. ChadsLawn

ChadsLawn LawnSite Bronze Member

I own a ZTMax 52" back when it was just FD Kees. Its a great mower and still is. The only ongoing problem I have with this mower, is the spindles. The sealed bearing set up doesnt last long at all. But I converted mine to greaseable and seem to be doing alot better. Other than that, its a good quality mower. Will I buy another? NO there are no dealers around me who sells them. Its either eXmark, Hustler or Chopper that Ive seen so far.

6. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

Yup.... :gunsfirin

OK... first of all, Y/K used to carry a large price tag around here, I guess due to lack of competition of other Y/K dealers or other brands for that matter. But in the past few years I have noticed a dramatic decline in prices.