Year round pricing??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by cutintime, Aug 23, 2003.

1. cutintime

cutintime LawnSite Member

Hi everyone, I have a question on how to price a job on a monthly basis, when here in S.W. FL. the lawn will only need to be cut once every 2 or 3 weeks. I am very new at this and I only have 4 accounts now but I may have not considered the dry season. If I made a mistake on pricing the 4 accounts I already have, I can live with it, but I don't want to make that mistake over and over. Someone mentioned something about considering my $30 a week cut $40 in my last post, not sure what that meant. I do offer other services, (tree trimming, sprinkler repair) and I have gotten 2 one time deals for tree service but obviously you can't depend on one time deals. Any help would be greatly appreciated:)
    Also, Thanks for the input on the guys house built on a hill. He never complained but this weeks mowing went much better.

One other thing, I may need to buy a new mower. Mine is in the shop. I am thinking about a toro zero turn rider. on sale for 3199.00 16hp 42in cut. Sound good? ?
    Anyone know of a good place to buy a mower in SW FL.?? I'm not looking for the super duper I can cut three football fields in 20 minutes type mower, just a good for residential under 4 grand mower. Again, any help would be great:D

2. pinnacle

pinnacle LawnSite Senior Member

Mate can't give you any insight on your pricing but a 42'' Toro ain't going to cut footy feilds. (Esieki?)
    Have you demod other mowers?
    The Toros have a bad deck on them you should stay away from "Stamped metal decks" and look for something thats "Fully welded and fabricated" and nice and deep.

3. mowerman90

mowerman90 LawnSite Bronze Member