Yellow Pages

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Guardian, Apr 12, 2001.

1. Guardian

Guardian LawnSite Senior Member
    from Florida

This is my first year in the Yellow Pages. I am already overwhelmed. At first, I was excited - now I'm bothered. I feel I am wasting time and money on poor quality yards and people who want something cheap. I actually have all I can Handle without adding another crew.(not ready to do that just yet)I developed a "Qualification Sheet" so when someone answers the phone, they can determine wether of not we're interested in their business. My question is: What would happen if I refered these calls to another company for a percentage of the initial job (or a flat fee)? Does it seem like a good idea? Do you think anyone would go for that? OR should I accept some and chunk most?

2. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

I've thought about that myself. I think it will work if you set it up with the other guy in advance. I'm going to ask mine not to advertise his business when I send him out. I think I'm going to tell the caller that somebody will be there to talk to them and give them an estimate. All invoicing will go through me I will pay the sub. I've got all I can handle too and I hate to turn down money that I could have a piece of. At the same time it would help somebody get started................of course it could bite you in the ars down the road like it did me...........maybe it's contract time!

3. Skookum

Skookum LawnSite Senior Member

Get with a guy in advance like Homer has said, but get with him and see if you could arrange someway of setting a price say by square footage. Then you deal with the customer on the estimate and then sub out the job to him.

You could use your current accounts as practice to see if you can come to a price arrangement that you both could agree on ahead of time.