Yellow pages??

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by SW Landscape Maintenance, May 5, 2006.

1. SW Landscape Maintenance

SW Landscape Maintenance LawnSite Member

Ok I'm a solo operator. 50 clients per week right now. 25 of them are on contract year round, all residential. Get a lot of referrals. Can not operate like this the rest of my life if I'm going to stay in this business. Need to increase sales. Would like to have at least 75 customers 1 employee part time etc. Should I advertise in yellow pages or put a nice coloured flyer together? What I'm afraid of is if I go the yellow pages I will be running around doing estimates and zero work getting done. I'm fussy and don't want to leave my clients in someones hands . I think that the yellow pages are costly and even more so when you are running around doing estimates for people who are fishing for the cheapest price. I'm not cheap! Just need some input and ideas. Are the yellow pages the answer? Do they really work? or continue on and offer some type of referral program with my existing clients?:confused: :canadaflag:
  2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

First of all if you have some spare cash, just go with a plain text listing for a year and see how that works. Even if your spare cash is considerable, get a smaller ad so you can gauge the response without getting swamped but if you get TOO busy then you raise your prices and all is good again.

I wouldn't get too big an ad for starters and I wouldn't spend more than what you can afford to completely waste. I say this because I spent almost 2 thousand on advertising last year and if I got 6 calls from it ... But, it was spare cash and I learned my lesson (next time spend less because I could've stuck a grand in my pocket without hurting my own feelings lol).