Yellow Pages.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Scape Sculptor, Apr 3, 2000.

1. Scape Sculptor

Scape Sculptor LawnSite Member

Hey, guys I have a chance to get in the yellow pages for the next town near me. 300,000 copies. What size would be appropiate? This is my first year. Have bare essentials for equip, will rent what I don't have. Only working capital will be what I make. I have expertise, over 20 years in greens industry and a Hort degree. Book comes out in June so I would think I would benefit from it this year. Would like to hear what you all think and would like to see your add, just to see what your looks like. Also what kind of response do you get from it? I have till Friday to let them know if I'm in. Thanks guys, Dan
  2. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

Dan,<p>If you want to grow your business fast this is the way to go. I have had mine since last June and although I ***** about the cost, it sure has worked! I ran an ad big enough to be second on the page but it costs $300.00 a month, I'm in 2 directories. The other town that I advertised in has brought me nothing but the bill every month. I would suggest keeping the ad local, don't want too much travel time and put as much color in it as you can afford. It comes down to what you can pay for every month as to what size you wind up with. I downsized mine to a one liner this year and will see what response I get, it now will cost me $13.70 per month! You have to pay for the business line in order to have the yellow page ad so there is another $70.00 per month.<p>Homer
  3. yardsmith

yardsmith LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ohio