Yellow Pages?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by dchauling, Dec 13, 2006.

1. dchauling

dchauling LawnSite Member

Hi all

What is the best way for advertising that you have found.

I am primarily a landscaper but I am retiring from the Army next year and want some monthly lawn maint. accounts for the guaranteed income.

I have been very sucessful with an ad in the newspaper (city of 750 000) but I want to expand the bus.

Any input on Yellow Pages is much appreciated.

2. nmez21

nmez21 LawnSite Senior Member

I've only heard bad things about advertising in the yp. My father, aunt, uncle, and cousin are all FORMER yellow page advertisers, and say that they'd never try it again. Big waste of money, in their opinions. Your add gets noticed less and less as the book grows, but the price you pay increases even faster than that. Hope this helps you out.
  3. IN2MOWN

IN2MOWN LawnSite Platinum Member

Im trying my first YP ad this year. The book just came out last week. Its not a big ad by any means . About 2.5 inches wide by 1.5 tall. Its about 60 a month for the year. I saw the ad and the good news is its the only "AD" on the page surrounded by the oneliners with the companies name and #. I guess I lucked out on the page.
  4. marionlandscape

marionlandscape LawnSite Member

think of the biggest companies around look up a few of them in the yellow pages. I'll bet they are there. do you think they just made bad decisions to get as big as they are or do you think they put a little research into it. also the YP just puts your name in front of them you still have to make a name for yourself

RICHIE K LawnSite Senior Member

Try church bulleitens the best is word of mouth 97% of our business is that
  6. Grass Kickin

Grass Kickin LawnSite Member

My opinion is that if someone needs a landscaper, they will find one long before they resort to the YP.

GELAWNS LawnSite Member