You Guys (all of you) please read this!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ItalyEd, Jul 14, 2004.

1. ItalyEd

ItalyEd LawnSite Member
    from texas

True story: Dateline Dallas, Texas July 2004

I logged onto this website a few weeks ago to pick your brain about a couple of mowers. I'm a lawyer by trade and out of my league when it comes to ZTR, stamped decks v.s fabricated decks, etc... etc...

I was all set to buy a Gravely 44Z from a dealer in Waco, Texas. The guys made me a super deal to drive 80 miles away. I put down a deposit.

A few days later. BOOM. My prayers were answered. On EBAY is a 2001 Exmark LaserZ with only 285 hours. (See my other thread with pics). I ask you guys for advice. Everyone was much too helpful. The few that said, "this sounds too good to be true", got me worried.

This morning I'm getting ready to deal with my EBAY guy in Canada. He sends me an email. "Your mower is shipped. Contact "www.CASSOS.com" and here's your tracking no. I contact the shipping company and they verify, "we've got your mower." I send them pics and say, "can you confirm it looks like that?" "Yes it does" they respond. Two things bothered me. One, the guy writes, "it looks like new". Second, he says, "do you want me to confirm the hours?" My immediate thoughts were, "the pictures don't look like new!" and how the hell does Pierre from Canada know about the "hour gauge?".

Within minutes I get an email from a member here. He says, "slow down. A few hours ago the Canadian guy said the mower is still for sale!" WHAT !! WHAT!!!

So the member here sends the guy an email and says, "Hey, I offer you $4000.00." Guess what? The Canadian guy says, "The mower is yours, here's the wiring instructions and no.s" This is 4-5 hours after he tells me , "the mower's been shipped."

CAN YOU GUYS BELIEVE THIS @#$@#!!!

The member says, "Dude, you've been living right because you got lucky!" 2 hours and I would have been 4 grand out of pocket!! Son-of-a-B@#$!!!!!!!