you guys impress me!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by haynestotallawn, Apr 23, 2002.

1. haynestotallawn

haynestotallawn LawnSite Member

Honestly, most if not all of you have owned your own business for a while and wouldn't dream of working for someone else, me I've worked in industry forever it seems and it scares me to think my business is growing at a rate that come mid summer I may have to make a decision on doing this full time or turning down some business. Just wanted to say that.

2. scott's turf

scott's turf LawnSite Senior Member
    from NH

Stick with both than. I am a full time engineer and run my lawn biz as well. I have 1 FT guy that I pay very well and he does 90% of the labor. I mostly do the books and oversee his work. You still keep your benefits and make some extra money on the side. If your lawn biz could make a lot more than your current job you might want to go for it FT but think it through.

3. sheppard

sheppard LawnSite Senior Member

I always thought that fear was a good thing. Who wants to live a boring safe life.

Jump out of the boat and start your own business.

I highly recommend reading a speach given by Teddy Roosevely "The Strenuous Life". This motivated me to go full steam ahead in my business.

Cordially,
    Sheppard

4. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

You can't MAKE that kind of money cutting grass as a solo to pay for benefits like that. It is virtually impossible. No matter what anybody tells you.

5. TGCummings

TGCummings LawnSite Senior Member

It would sure save me a lot of time and energy to know that for sure.

The wife and I are building our business with those kinds of expenses in mind and if we can't get it built up enough by the end of the year to cover those things, we're likely getting out. We can cover our living expenses, business expenses, fun expenses, medical insurance, and retirement by working a reasonable week at approximately $50/hour.