your best customer

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by yorkpaddy, May 1, 2002.

1. yorkpaddy

yorkpaddy LawnSite Member

who's your best customer, not necesarily the one you get the most money from, but your favorite one to do business with. I have a couple

The Mcguires, 7 acre property, I cut 4 of them for about $200. They are a really nice family and let me keep my dirtbike at their house sometimes.

Mr. Hull, small lawn $20, but he always pays on time and really likes me. He is a defense anylyst and I always get a world update when I see him.

Mr. Means, $35 lawn, pays on time. he's an admissions advisor for penn state and offered to help get me into that school.
  2. the point man

the point man LawnSite Member

One of the things which I've enjoyed most about the lawn business is dealing with (most of) my customers. For twenty-
    three years, I was a police officer in a small but rough blue-
    collar city, and rarely had the opportunity to make my "customers" happy. Quite the opposite, most times. You're
    obviously young, and you're learning a valuable lesson which
    should help you succeed throughout your life. Treat your customers as you'd treat your family and take time to talk with
    them. Lots of guys on these sites don't spend time to BS with
    the customers. Some just don't have the time due to the work-
    load. But you are apparently doing that, and look at what you've
    gained already: a place to store your dirt bike and possibly an
    "in" at a prestigious school. Good luck in the future!
  3. yorkpaddy

yorkpaddy LawnSite Member

yeah, I love talking to the customers too.
    I waste quite a bit of time talking to them, and its not like they keep bringing things up and i'm trying to leave, its a real conversation and I'm just lazy about work.