your image?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jordanHXC, Apr 14, 2004.

1. jordanHXC

jordanHXC LawnSite Member

i'm fairly new to the site, having a great time learing from all of you. here is my question. this is my first season in business, i have a genetics degree and spent my years after college touring with my band. over the course of a few tours i ended up with about 40 tattoos. one full sleeve is my main concern. i'm putting in an order for shirts soon. not sure if i should suck it up and go long sleeved all summer, or get short sleeved and save myself some hassle. with short sleeves i look like a 240 pound, juiced up, tattooed, skinhead....with long sleeves i look fairly normal. i am new to lawn service and was wondering. is image important when you get new acounts? do any of you have the same problem? is it worth wearing long sleeves during the summer to hide who/what i really am? as of now i plan on going long sleeved. it is a choice i made and a consequence i will probably pay for for thr rest of my life....what do you all think? will anyone care?
    tony j

2. moneyman

moneyman LawnSite Member

I tell you what if a guy with a sleeve came to my house and knocked on my door. I would be hesitant to answer it.
    I am not trying to be mean.But that is how the world is.
    Im sure your a nice guy and all.

Order a few of each...See how customers respond to your tatoos.If they dont seem to like your prescence.wear long sleeves.

good Luck,

PS why are you not working in the field with your degree?

3. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

Yes, some people will definitely care. Like it or not, many people will judge you based on your appearance. That's reality. But the good news is you can do some things to help look more professional.