1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Your kids working for you?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Lawn-Scapes, Jul 18, 2001.

1. Lawn-Scapes

Lawn-Scapes LawnSite Silver Member

Does anyone have thier kid working with them? If so.. how does it work out for you? Son or daughter? How old are they?

My daughter has asked if she could work with me. I told her maybe next year. She's only 13, but very responsible and great determination in everything she does. She would have no problem operating my Lazer (on relatively flat lawns) and a handheld blower.

As a solo operator, I could use the extra help until I could build the business to the point that I could afford to hire a full time employee.

I feel it might not look too professional though.....

What's everyone think?
  2. Island Lawn

Island Lawn LawnSite Senior Member

I see a few guys with kids helping them.
    To me, it does add to their already unprofessional image.

I guess the part that gets me is they have these 13 yr old kids out there running equipment with no hearing or sight protection!
    (They're just following the status quo)

On the other hand, it give the kids something constructive to do...

BTW, I'm solo....& like it!
  3. script

script LawnSite Member

My 17 year old helps me during summer vacation and my older son did the same until he graduated. Mine started when they were about 15. I think it's great to have family working together and it gives the kids something to do. As long as you train them properly, they'll look and act as professional as the next guy.

4. 13yearoldcutter

13yearoldcutter Guest

My dad helps me in my bussiness........ J/K I also work solo and all my friends see the money I make and want to join
  5. John from OH

John from OH LawnSite Member