your local dealers positives?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by BOSCHERT LAWN CARE, Jan 27, 2008.

BOSCHERT LAWN CARE LawnSite Member

what does your local do for you that other dealers do not?
    and what makes a dealer stand out above all others? discounts? inventory? incentives? personal friendly service?

im new in the industry and am personaly looking for the LCO's opions :waving:
  2. lawnprosteveo

lawnprosteveo LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Tulsa

They are personal and friendly...they always act happy to see me. Im not a "big time" lco...but they make me feel like theyre glad Im there.

Some dealers around here give you the impression they could care less if you are there or not. They even act like you are putting them out to have to help you.
  3. IN2MOWN

IN2MOWN LawnSite Platinum Member

I agree with the above.

Im not a big timer either but they still take the time to open the door for me and make me feel like Im the only one in the building.

They know me and my family by first name. They take the time to say hi to my kids. When I have a problem they call me about it instead of just fixing it. When I dont understand something they will break it down and explain it to me.
  4. Smurf

Smurf LawnSite Member
    from Maine

Most dealers i buy from are fairly small and have a family feel to them, which i like.

While discounts are nice, i'd rather have a dealer that was friendly and helpful with a good inventory of parts. There's nothing worse, in my opinion, than a dealer that acts like your wasting their time.
  5. iblonger

iblonger LawnSite Member

My dealer has most parts on hand or gets them quickly and will cut me small deals where he can (oil at cost etc...) but the most important thing is when my equipment goes down I move above all homeowners on the list. He gets that this is my lively hood.
  6. TomberLawn

TomberLawn LawnSite Bronze Member