Your profesional opinions.

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by DreamCrusher, Sep 19, 2007.

1. DreamCrusher

DreamCrusher LawnSite Member

Just found this site and thought I'd post. I am very close to finishing my own backyard and I wanted to post here to show my handy work as well as ask a few professionals how I did and what they would have done differently.
    Please keep in mind that I am not a professional at this nor have I ever even attempted anything like it. Actually, I'm a federal agent believe it or not. This was my first time for everything you see done here.

I started out by digging drainage ditches down both sides of the house. and installed 4" perforated pipe.
    [​IMG][​IMG]

I installed a three sprinkler valve manifold -
    one for the existing drip system in the front yard - one for the new drip system in the backyard - and one for the new sprinkler system in the backyard.
    Then I put in the new drip system and the sprinklers.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I drew up a design and painted out the plan on the ground. Then I made some wood covers for the open design bricks that were already in the back wall. This was to keep these bricks from being covered with material when I raised the level of the whole yard.
    [​IMG]

I filled the drainage ditches with pee gravel and put up some wood barriers for the yard level to be raised.
    [​IMG]

I tapped in to the natural gas from the house and ran a gas line out to where the I planned to build the custom fire pit. No, I didn't have a licenced plumber do this. However, all pipes and fittings were triple wrapped with teflon tape, I pressure checked every join, I buried it 6" underground (18" after I raised the yard level) and I encased the whole thing in 1 1/2" PVC.
    [​IMG]