Zoysia installation, maintenance

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by lilmarvin4064, Aug 9, 2006.

1. lilmarvin4064

lilmarvin4064 LawnSite Senior Member

I'm considering getting into growing some Zoysia lawns. I know my cool-season stuff, but I'm still learning about the warm season stuff. I hear that most people sprig the zoysia, but it seems easier to find zoysia seed around here. Does anyone have experience with either method of planting?

I'm in Zone 7.
    This is what I'm thinking off, tell me if I'm way off...
    Core aerate and/or slice seed in May, add a higher P fert (starter) 18-24-12 or 10-10-10, 20-10-10 etc.

Do I need a pre-emergent? if so what is the best one for zoysia? I usually use dimension on fescue.

Apply 14-0-14 or 19-0-19 or similar fertilizers throughout summer, preferably ammonium sulfate, and potassium sulfate?

taper off the nitrogen a month or so to prepare the turf for dormancy.

Do you get good results with overseeding dormant zoysia with ryegrass? Or would improved bermuda be a better choice? Or I could always just paint the turf green for winter.

Any thoughts or suggestions from you warm season guys?

2. jeffinsgf

jeffinsgf LawnSite Senior Member

I'm not a pro, but I am right in the middle of creating a zoysia lawn, so I'll pass along what I have learned over the last year.

Seeding is far less expensive then sprigs, plugs, or sod. But, sowing zoysia is not in the least like sowing anything else. From the stand point of doing it for someone else, I think you could be creating a customer service nightmare. It comes up SLOWWWWW. While it is often praised for its drought tolerance, I have discovered it won't spread well until you really lay the water to it. Your customer has got to really want a zoysia yard, and has to be committed to nurturing it for the first two years of its life.