ZTR choices?

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by vertigo01, Jun 29, 2013.

1. vertigo01

vertigo01 LawnSite Member

Newbie here from the South Mississippi area looking for honest opinions and input.
    Being a newbie to the whole ZTR buying experience has left me rather dumbfounded by the available models and prices.
    After our big box store JD ZTR decided to drop a cylinder, I have finally decided it time to bite the bullet and make a step up to something that is made to last.
    I mow 8 acres some quite bumpy, some hilly and some smooth,yes quite a varied yard. :confused:
    The wife and I started our day with the intention's of finding a decent ZTR, we ended our day almost as confused as we were when we started.:dizzy:
    However we did narrow our choices down to 3 ZTR's so far.
    They are listed in no certain preference order, that's where you fine gays and gals come in, by giving me your honest opinion's.

1.Gravely pro-Turn 260, 60"
    Kawasaki FX751V

2 Scag Tiger Cat 60"
    Kawasaki 730FS

3. Bad Boy Outlaw Extreme
    Kawasaki 852cc or the Vanguard 36hp?

I would like to know the pro's and con's of each, regarding cut quality, comfort when the going gets rough, and the benefit's of a 60" deck over the 51 or 54" deck other than the obvious size difference.

I am not a commercial guy but I would like to pick up a few neighborhood account's.
    The neighborhood ( hood ) consists of lot sizes between 1 and 7 acres and few gates.

Thank's in advance for your help in trying to un-confuse me/us.
  2. GMLC

GMLC LawnSite Platinum Member

This should help you decide.

Im not a BB fan so I would take that off the list. The Gravely 260 is a faster bigger machine. The Tiger Cat is on the same level as a Gravely 160. Both have great cutting decks, in fact my two favorites.
    Posted via Mobile Device
  3. vertigo01