ZTR, how do you control

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Donald A, May 19, 2008.

1. Donald A

Donald A LawnSite Member

I'm new to the ZTR, I have a ZD331 with 72" deck. I can cut fairly straight with it except cutting down hill. It seems to have a mind of its own cutting down hill. Is this just inexperience on my part or does anyone else have this problem? Any hints???
  2. Toad

Toad LawnSite Senior Member

All Zs are a bit squirly on the downhill, when you start to go down hill, start of slow and steady, almost pulling back on the levers. Take your time to get the feel of how it reacts, over time and experience you will not have an issue.
  3. Stillwater

Stillwater LawnSite Platinum Member

What Toad said.................
  4. ALC-GregH

ALC-GregH LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

practice makes perfect! I experienced the same thing at first, then after a few passes, I had it totally under control. It takes time to learn how fast you can go going downhill and uphill.
    After awhile, you'll learn what your machine is capable of and know how far you can push it......
  5. Donald A

Donald A LawnSite Member

Thanks all,
    I thought the lack of control was due to my lack of experience.
  6. ALC-GregH

ALC-GregH LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

downhill is tricky. start out slow and work your way up to a safe speed. Whatever you do, don't go to fast, you won't stop near quick enough. Once the rear tires start to slip, your done. Going down at a angle can be just as bad. The Enforcer is terrible on hills at a angle. The inside tire always wants to slide, once it does, it won't follow the line your cutting and veer off. Then you try to back up to get on the line and it spins. It's tough when first getting started on a ZTR.
  7. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

I just can't let this go, there are more than a few mistakes I'll let you guys make and figure this out on your own, but this ain't one of them, it's just too serious.

NEVER point a Z down hill.