ZTR mower advice for my business...

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by airtractrdrivr, Jul 24, 2004.

1. airtractrdrivr

airtractrdrivr LawnSite Member

Hey guys, I'm new here, so hello to all. I've been lurking around reading for a while now, and have really got some good info so far. Anyway, I've been mowing part time now for the last two years, and have decided to go at it full time. I've been using a 20hp 46" deck lawn tractor to do the bulk of my work, but I've outgrown it with some of the stuff I'm doing this season, and honestly, it's about worn out. All my equipment is paid for (trimmers, blower, trailer, spray rig, acc.) except my truck, and I am thinking now is the time to move up to a ztr mower. I am trying to sell a 40' gooseneck flatbed trailer I have, and when it sells, I will have a tad over $5000 to spend. With the trailer I have (60" wide), I am limited to something with a 52" deck. What would you recommend?

2. airtractrdrivr

AH, come on, I know you guys are out there!

3. MOJO111

MOJO111 LawnSite Member

Use the search function on this site, lots of info on all brands.
    BUT for me I like J.D Scag ,Toro Kubota.ARIENS ,GRAVELY HUSTLER.
    Theres lots out there to choose from, it depends on the work you do. best thing to do is demo all those in your price range to get a feel for what sutes you best.:D
    good luck------PHIL.

4. tarp5350

tarp5350 LawnSite Member

this is the home of no replys

5. TennYD

TennYD LawnSite Member

I just upgraded to a 144 Gravely ... great investment

6. airtractrdrivr

Yeah, I'm starting to see that. Almost makes you think that us new guys with legitimate questions aren't welcome. :rolleyes:

Hey, I see you are in Lexington, OK. I'm just South of you down the big road, in Davis.

7. airtractrdrivr

What size deck did you get? I checked that one out on their website. If you dont mind me asking, what was the price?

8. airtractrdrivr