ztr residential?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by FinerCutslawnCare, Apr 9, 2006.

1. FinerCutslawnCare

FinerCutslawnCare LawnSite Bronze Member

Hey guys i wanted to know if anyone was running a lazer ct with a 52" deck. I was thinking about getting one for my residential lawns and was wondering if they were any good. Are they under powered at all???Are they worth the money? I am still somewhat small and have never driven a ztr. ANY info would be great!

2. Madstriper

Madstriper LawnSite Member

I am new to this as well. But I used a buddys 04 Lazer CT 52" with 18 Kohler last week, mowing his dads yard, just to see what a commercial ZTR was like, it was the first mow of the year, should have been the 3rd. Anyway, it did bog down a few times, and although I know it could use a good sharpening on the blades, it did seem under powered. After visiting all the dealers around here, I think I will buy the Grasshopper 223/52". I mowed an overgrown field, ran it pretty fast and left nothing behind. I know this was a brand new mower, but I couldnt believe how well it cut and how smooth the ride was compared to the Laser. I still think my 21" Home Depot HONDA cuts best!
    But it wouldnt have cut that field, not in a day....better yet the 45 minutes the Grasshopper cut it in. He gave me a price of 7200 total.

3. MTR

MTR LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Florida

Lazer CT, isn't this a homeowner mower? It is not built to cut 8hr a day 7 days a week...etc.

4. Jake's Lawn Service

Jake's Lawn Service LawnSite Member

No it is not a homeowner model. I have one and it works fine.

5. ThirdDay

ThirdDay LawnSite Senior Member

Yes, the Lazer CT is a homeowner grade model. The frame is not near as heavy duty as the Lazer and Lazer HP and they have lower grade engines, pumps, motors etc...Smaller wheels too.

All you have to do is put the CT next to the other Lazers to compare and you will see for yourself.

6. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic