ZTR V's Outfront (JD1445/1565 & others)

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by aussiegreg, May 24, 2005.

1. aussiegreg

aussiegreg LawnSite Member

G'day Lawnies,

I am a contractor in Australia and currently run a Toro Z597 ZTR and a large part of my work involves overgrown properties, wheere the grass is at least 1 mostly 2 feet high or more. Whilst the Toro can do it it is very slow ( highest deck height of 5 inches)and am after a more appropriate machine. I am still after a mower as a Tractor/slasher combination is too big and heavy for traileering.

I am considering an outfront mower as I feel that with the ability of the deck to be raised to about 18 inches it means that you can skim the top and then come back around on a 2nd pass and bring it down to say 4-6 inches. The outfront will still give a good cut, be very manouverable and as it only weighs 1000kg (2200lbs) and the Toro ZTR weighs 760kg (1600lbs?) I can easily trailer them both together with our smaller Aussie 4WD's.

I am wondering if anyone has any experience with outfront's especially if they run ZTR's as well. I need a 2nd machine as I will employ someone but if all my properties were under 1 foot high I would just get another ZTR. But I need that high lifting deck.

Also which is a smoother ride outfront or ZTR

I am looking at JD 1445 & 1565, New Holland MC35, Kubota's & Iseki SF333.

Thanks Mates

2. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

Sounds like you need a hay cuttin rig.
  3. gl1200a

gl1200a LawnSite Senior Member

I guess I don't understand using a grooming mower to mow such a coarse and basic mow down that needs a bush hog or flail mower pulled on a 3 point hitch. It seems like a real abuse of fine cutting equipment.
  4. green acres lawns

green acres lawns LawnSite Senior Member