1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Catch up on the conversation with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns in the Franchising forum plus sign up to receive a FREE eBook on how to grow your landscape business.

Dismiss Notice

2003 exmark 23hp 52" in Florida

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tnales, Jul 9, 2005.

1. tnales

tnales LawnSite Member
    from florida

Hello. I am interested in purchasing a used mower that is for sale locally in Florida. It is a 23hp Kawasaki with a 52 inch deck. It has 115 hrs on it. What would be a reasonable cash price for this mower? I know that they are about 7-8000 new. Also, which motor is better? The Kohler of Kawasaki?

I have 2.5 acres in south florida and I would also like to use it as a secondary mower for my 22 acres in central florida.

I am new to the exmark scene and would appreciate any help. Thanks.

2. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

I guess part of the price issue would be if its a regular Z or Lazer Z HP. The HP's sell for more new than the 52" regular Z. One of the most sought after and best sellers of eXmark is the 52" Lazer Z HP with 23 Kawi. I've owned 2. The newest MSRP on the Lazer HP with Kawi is now $7999.

You can't really hurt any comm'l mower much in 115 hours, so I would consider it probably a very good machine. A little birdie inside eXmark one time told me that a good rule of thumb for figuring value was the selling price minus $5 per hour on the machine. With that in mind, that would still be more than I would be willing to pay for a used machine. If the machine was kept inside, oil changed correctly, nothing more than a few paint scratches from normal use, I would see giving $5000-$5700.

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=48529

Oh, motor choice for me is Kawi only. They make more torque and I've never had any problems from them.