652r Mod vs. 652r Prodeck

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing Equipment' started by K c m, Apr 18, 2019.

1. K c m

K c m LawnSite Bronze Member

Hello guys, First week mowing with a brand new 652r kawi prodeck. Traded in my kawi MOD in october. The mod had set the bar from what I was used to and was purchased in 2014. Awesome mower, great wet and dry. Took the Mod chute off since it was batting down clippings rather then dispersing them. In my opinion the mod is a waste of 800 dollars. So here in philly last year was extremely wet and fertilized lawns grew out of control. I noticed that where the blades met (gators) was leaving a line of stingers, also noticing a small trail of clippings on the trim size but one blade in. I chalked it up to maybe to many grinds on the blades and double cut. I also own a pro deck 652r kawi that i traded in a whp48a in for and is a back up and used for my lawn. Not a whole lot of cutting on it to notice a difference.
    As a solo operator I cut anywhere from 24-33 lawns a day, fired all my biweekly lawns and currently cut 123 lawns per week. 8000-15000 with a 2 acre lawn mixed in there. HOLY MOLLIE does this deck cut. It cuts like whose your daddy. I say this because I run two different styles of cutting. One is in super wet conditions (this past monday morning) Ill do circles and damp/dry ill stripe them. Now going into this week I had a feeling it was going to be difficult with the fertilized lawns (should have been out last week cutting) and judging from how the MOD cut. In the beginning of the season I cut at 2.5-3 with a majority being at 2 3/4's. I do this because it gives me a little breathing room. So monday I had 31 lawns set, one was my parents lawn but ill count it anyway. First 4 are pretty big lawns and then they get smaller as the day goes on. Immediately on Joe Boka's (got his name because he goes to boka raton florida) who is 86, and has nothing better to do but invest in lawn treatments. Well what normally would be a double