Lawn Care Forum banner

A little bummed...Need Advice

2K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  coyotekid 
#1 ·
I made my first two bids in the "green" industry today, and both went over like lead balloons! Here's the deal:

Customer #1

I mowed the lawn once last Friday. It took me 7.0 hours, including 1.5 hours cleanup @ $17.50/hour, 3.3 hours mowing with a Grasshopper 928D @ $48.00/hour, and 2.2 hours trimming @ $27.00/hour. The total bill comes to $244.05, and I agreed to charge $230.00 per service. The customer said, "That's just not going to fly." He really feels $100.00 maximum per week is what I should be charging.

Customer #2

I charged the same rates; 1.7 hours mowing and 2.5 hours trimming with 2.3 hours cleanup (taking down all deer fences, etc.). For 6.5 hours of work, I charged $184.25. This guy was even better! He really thinks I should be at about $75 per week!

What should I do? I'm new at this game, but I met with another operator in my area, and I'm already cheaper than them. I'm WAY CHEAPER than most on this board already! I just can't afford to do these jobs for much less. On the other hand, I'm worried since these are my first two bids, and both are rapidly going South.

Thanks for the advice.

See less See more
#2 ·
If were charging prices that low I couldn't even afford to be on this computer.
I charge near $60.00 per. hour.
I don't have any properties that are near as large as these must be though.
Hope you can resolve this and make some $$$$$. Food is important. payup

#4 ·