A little something on the side

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by AirborneMechanic, Apr 28, 2018.

1. AirborneMechanic

AirborneMechanic LawnSite Member

Hello, new here, I'm a full time diesel technician. I work 4 10's Tuesday thru Friday. I used to mow with a guy in a bigger town and we had about 100 accounts a week. We had two crews, each with a wright stander 36 and a hustler 60. I decided that I wanted to get back into it a bit and make a little money on the side along with getting out of the house and staying busy on Mondays. My goal is to pick up about 10-15 accounts for Mondays and if it picks up a bit more I guess I'll see where it goes.

Currently I own, including recent purchases, a wright stander 36 fixed deck, trimmer, edger, hedge trimmer, aerator, spreader, back pack blower, hand tools and a few extras and just picked up a new 6x12 utility trailer and a new truck. I registered a sole proprietorship and am just a one guy operation.

I'm pretty much just looking for residential or maybe some small commercial as I do not have a larger deck mower at this time.

Looking for any tips on it to help out provide a professional finish cut and decent striping with the stander. Currently running the oem style blade, believe it is a medium lift, have blade height set at 4" with a 1/4" pitch. It looks like the deck has a bit of a backwards pitch built in, meaning while the blades are pitched forward the deck itself measures about a 1/2" lower in the back, assuming to help with striping?? I do have a question in respect to blade height within the deck, currently they are about 1.25" from bottom of deck, not sure if raising them or lowering them within deck provides some different results or not or in theory what it would do. I never messed with any adjustments in the past on the standers, that was done by the other guy and unfortunately I should have asked more questions then and paid more attention.