1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Catch up on the conversation with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns in the Franchising forum plus sign up to receive a FREE eBook on how to grow your landscape business.

Dismiss Notice

Advice for starting a lawn business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by agureyev, Jan 8, 2017.

1. agureyev

agureyev LawnSite Member

Hello I'm a 25 year old college student living in Southern Connecticut. I have been working for a guy who owns his own landscaping business. He has been doing it for 26 years on his own and hires 1 helper at a time under the table. I have 2 years experience working with him and i'm pretty good with a string trimmer, backpack blower, and push blower. I'm good with a small lawn mower although i dont know much about the mechanical side of things other then how to winterize string trimmer and backpack. He uses a skag walk behind mower with velke and i dont know how to use one of these. Basically i would like to save up money to start my own business and get a truck and small mower to start doing small properties. I already have a Shindaiwa T344 string trimmer and a Husqvarna 580bfs blower which i do odd jobs with. What are the first steps i would need to take? Some people say just to print flyers to hang in stores or pay for ads in newspapers, magazines, business cards, etc. If i do this do I need insurance or can i start without insurance and license? What kind of License/insurance would i need and how much would it cost? Advice and guidance on the legal side of things would be much appreciated, Thank you.

drivenlandscapes likes this.
  2. TPendagast

TPendagast LawnSite Fanatic
    Male

First off you're in college

So why would you want to start this kind of business?
    Second

You're already working for someone who is half adding stuff.
    So that means you really don't know anything.

If you work/live in southern Connecticut