Aeration/sprinkler marking

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by Mow Money Lawn Care, Aug 17, 2017.

1. Mow Money Lawn Care

Mow Money Lawn Care LawnSite Senior Member

I am new to aeration this year. How should I approach my customers about marking their sprinklers? Should I recommend they contact their irrigation company, do it themselves or do it myself. Do irrigation companies charge for this service, if so, what is the typical charge? If I were to do it, is that something I should charge for?

2. SLC & IS

SLC & IS LawnSite Member
    from No. Va.

We ask customers to flag heads prior to areation( we supply flags that they keep) if we are asked to flag we just add some to there price. And dont flag the same time your going to do areation makes to much mud.

3. Mow Money Lawn Care

Thanks for that info.

4. Mdirrigation

Mdirrigation LawnSite Gold Member

Irrigation contractors will charge a service call plus flag costs .

The safest way is for you to mark the heads , that way you know they were marked . If done by anyone else some could be missed and you end up paying for the repair

5. DA Quality Lawn & YS

DA Quality Lawn & YS LawnSite Fanatic

Exactly the reason you DONT want to mark the heads yourself. If YOU miss one and hit it, your on the hook. If someone else misses one and you hit it....it's their problem. I never mark heads..notice goes out with Septembers bill to have heads marked by 2nd week of Oct for fall aeration. No mark....no service.

6. Mdirrigation

Mdirrigation LawnSite Gold Member

If the heads are marked by someone in advance , somehow they get moved or taken up . When I aerate , If I dont mark them , I am not responsible . ( I also charge to do it )

7. JMK26

JMK26 LawnSite Bronze Member
    Male, from Missouri