1. Maintaining Company Culture During Stressful Times

How do you maintain a positive company culture during a time of social distancing, economic uncertainty, and health worries? Click here to learn more.

Dismiss Notice

Alternatives to a string trimmer?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jazza96, Dec 4, 2016.

1. jazza96

jazza96 LawnSite Member

Hi
    I am thinking of starting a part time lawn mowing business.
    The problem is that I am not very good at using a string trimmer for edges. I seem to hack into the grass.
    Is there anything else I could use for edges besides a string trimmer and a lawn edger?

Thanks

2. CorridorLawnCare

CorridorLawnCare LawnSite Member

Practice, there really isn't any other option unless you spray round-up along every obstacle, and i'd guess if you did that you wouldn't end up with too many customers...

3. Utah Lawn Care

Utah Lawn Care LawnSite Bronze Member

I am not aware of anything besides a trimmer and edger. Honestly I went from never using an edger before to using one on clients lawns every day without feeling like I was doing a crappy job. You will get a hold of the edging in a hurry. Just do a 90 degree angle and pull it towards the concrete. If it's overgrown you might have to kind of saw your way through some edges, but you will figure it out.

Getting really good and fast with a trimmer is a different story. It really does take some time to be quick and learn a few little tricks. I was about halfway done with my first year of mowing before I realized slowing the rpm's allowed me to get grass in corners way better, helped not beat the crap out of wood fences as bad, helped not use as much trimmer line on chain link etc. Just take your time and you will learn and be fine. Analyze your own work after you do it and adjust accordingly.

TrainingWheels likes this.
  4. Utah Lawn Care