1. Can’t make it to the GIE+EXPO 2017?
    LawnSite brings the trade show floor to your fingertips with our new GIE+EXPO 2017 Sneak Peek video series debuting now in the Lawn Mowing forum.

Dismiss Notice

Anyone ever hired a biz coach/consultant?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by RedSox4Life, Aug 21, 2017.

1. RedSox4Life

RedSox4Life LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Mass

I'm at a point with my business that I need to make some decisions about which direction to go in.

I have all the usual issues....I need to be out of the truck more, need to find and retain quality employees, need to develop systems to keep everything running smoothly etc etc

My problem is Im not a businessman, I'm a landscaper. And I don't really have anyone to talk to and bounce ideas off of. In short, I don't know where to go from here.

I'm wondering if anyone's been in my shoes and looked outside for help? Would some sort of consultant or business coach be a help to me? How did they help you? What were the good questions you did -or would- ask?

2. La Chandler

La Chandler LawnSite Member

An excellent and needed question. Especially in the strategy/financial area. Talk to all your friends, contacts, customers, etc. Can anyone put you in contact with a successful businessman or retired businessman who could coach you?

3. grass man 11

grass man 11 LawnSite Member

Professional business groups and consultants are completely worth it. Don't be afraid to spend some money along your way in search of the right person/group. Ultimately you have to decide what you want to do with your business but they can be a huge help.

4. Efficiency

Efficiency LawnSite Bronze Member
    from zone 6

Consultants will be most valuable when you have specific goals for them to achieve. If you just "want help", take your money to a club or a bar for the same happy feelings effect and no results.