Anyone in Georgia willing to help a guy with pricing?

Discussion in 'Bidding, Estimating and Pricing' started by psychocadi, Jun 8, 2019.

1. psychocadi

psychocadi LawnSite Member

This is my first year and I think I may be pricing too low. In particular I live dead in the center of Hall, Dawson, and Forsyth counties and do mow trim and blow. I'd love to use the square footage based system as it seems the best way of standardizing pricing. I'm not against the time based pricing but, I'm not real sure of man hour rates in this area either. I'm still learning but, I'm serious about making this work and started out with new solid equipment (Hustler 48"Fasttrak, Hustler Trimstar 36", Honda push, RedMax trimmers, edges and blowers all on a 14x7 enclosed). I don't want to be "that guy" undercutting the industry standards nor do I want to undercut myself.

Cam15 likes this.
  2. hal

hal LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Georgia

Need more info.... Why do you think you are pricing too low? Are you flooded with too much work? Are you below 35/cut?

Cam15 likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    psychocadi

I'm basically at 35 on everyone except 1. All take an hour +/- but I believe that time can be brought down as I become more comfortable with the equipment.

Break down is this:
    .66 acre weekly $35
    .59 biweekly $35
    .61 weekly $35
    .62 biweekly $50 (customer offered at this amount or I would have probably said $35)
    .46 biweekly $35 (client always pays $40 though)

Not flooded with work but, I've had my arm snatched off once and offered more than I would've charged another time.

4. hal

hal LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Georgia

My weekly start at 40, start, my bi weekly are 60. We are not accepting any more every other weeks, only every week all year around.

hort101 and psychocadi like this.
  5. OP
    OP
    psychocadi