Anyone use BNI?

Mikegyver

LawnSite Bronze Member
One of the local BNI (http://www.bni.com/) Chapters is needing a Lawncare/landscape person. It costs around $400 a year plus $50 a month for the meeting place and lunch. Supposedly I will be able to get all kind of referrals from it. Its basically a marketing group. Anyone have experience w/ BNI or another marketing group? I am just wondering if it would be worth the $1000 bucks a year plus a couple hrs a week of time. Supposedly this chapter did 6,000,000 in referrals last year.
Thanks
Mike

Oakleaf landscape

LawnSite Senior Member
My insurance agent has taken me as a guest to a few of his BNI events and I didn't really care for it. At his you meet once a week for an hour and a half. You can only miss 2 meetings a year or you are kicked out. You can have somebody from your company attend for you as a "sub". The few times I have been, I picked up a little bit of work but all lower end stuff. I'm a young business owner and I felt some people didn't take me serious because I'm only 20. For the $1000 and 75+ hours each year I feel I can make better use of that time.

OP
M

Mikegyver

LawnSite Bronze Member
My insurance agent has taken me as a guest to a few of his BNI events and I didn't really care for it. At his you meet once a week for an hour and a half. You can only miss 2 meetings a year or you are kicked out. You can have somebody from your company attend for you as a "sub". The few times I have been, I picked up a little bit of work but all lower end stuff. I'm a young business owner and I felt some people didn't take me serious because I'm only 20. For the $1000 and 75+ hours each year I feel I can make better use of that time.
Well I am 18 if that makes you feel any better. Most of the people there could be my parents or maybe even grandparents. I know exactly what you are talking about...it happens everywhere. People think you are the "lawn boy"