Applicator test ?

woodlawnservice

LawnSite Bronze Member
I'm studying for my applicators licenses right now for commercial use on my lawn customers. I've got 3 books I was told I had to study an pass the test. In the ornamental pest management book do I need to know all the diseases, management , and all the insects in order to pass the test? Thanks it's a ton of info to soak in if I have to know it all.
Posted via Mobile Device

BikePilot

LawnSite Member
The short answer is yes. I have been licensed in GA and most recently in TN. Call the Dept of Ag and find out how the test is setup. Both states I am licensed in have been 2 test to get to the level of being able to own your own business. TN was a little different because the second test was actually 2 parts with the first part being multiple choice and the second being specimen ID. The specimen ID covered a little of everything but it was a lot to study because they randomly pick from anything you could come across. Some of the stuff on my test in TN was not in the book as specific as the test. Good luck and don't get down on yourself if you don't pass the first time. I wouldn't have passed the TN test had it not been for my experience in GA for 6 years.

OP
W

woodlawnservice

LawnSite Bronze Member
Yea I planned on that for sure. It's only takin me 2 days to read all three of them. Only part I'm havin touble with is how to calibrate all the different types of equipment, and how to correctly measure all the herbicides. All the equations and what not. Also all the diseases and insects...
Posted via Mobile Device

gebby

LawnSite Senior Member