Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to mowing full time, and one of my competitors is selling his mowing rigs on ebay. We mow in the same areas so I know a lot of his houses and I want to bid his accounts Do you guys think its ethical to move in on this guys customers before he sells his company? Owen

·
Banned
726 Posts
Do unto other as you'd have done to yourself. As far as what they do unto to you? Well that's another subject ...

If you're going to make a move on insider-information, even though it's not illegal, it's definitely not honorable. However, if it is public knowledge that he's getting out of the business then it may not be as sleazy. But those accounts may be the most valuable thing he is selling, so if you do something to reduce that value, it wouldn't be too cool.

I'm all for hustling up work, but if you start stepping on other people's turf, you're setting yourself up for a fall. Aside from a LCO dropping the ball, just how loyal do you think these newly-hawked customers would be to you? I try to avoid price-shopper customers.

·
Registered
1,194 Posts
Originally posted by Bluesteel
Do unto other as you'd have done to yourself. As far as what they do unto to you? Well that's another subject ...
applause, applause,
Bluesteel, just have to say, that's the best post I've ever read of yours, the whole thing. Just had to say that, good going.

OwenS, ever thought about approaching this other LCO to find out what his whole story is? Is he selling equipment only, or accounts too? Selling equipment to upgrade??
I'd advise you find out before you ASSume too much.:)

·
Registered
3,353 Posts
well brother,i hate to say it but thats how the free enterprise system works....
its a judgement call,and i wouldnt go after a friends money.... but u better believe somebody will... just do whatever makes u sleep good at nite. jmo

·
Registered
5,129 Posts