1. Can’t make it to the GIE+EXPO 2017?
    LawnSite brings the trade show floor to your fingertips with our new GIE+EXPO 2017 Sneak Peek video series debuting now in the Lawn Mowing forum.

Dismiss Notice

ball field herbicide - mixed bag of weeds and turfgrass

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Coachbob, Jul 29, 2017.

1. Coachbob

Coachbob LawnSite Member

im a coach and take care of several fields on my own. We are in Southern California where a typical school field is a mixture Bermudagrass (mostly), Poa Annua, Kikuyu, Ryegrass, and a lot of other weeds. On one field we had good success with Trimec last February, but now we are dealing with crabgrass issues and Poa Annua demise in may areas. I would like to establish a cultural system that will deal with the common issues on a school budget. We mow the outfield to 2.5 inches typically. Right now the large bare patches where the poa and other cool season grasses have died are quite bare. I can't decide if we should try to eradicate the Poa or try to love with it because during g the Spring season it's easy to keep green.

So questions are as follows:
    Field 1 - primarily Bermuda, good stand with not much Poa or Rye. Significant crabgrass at various stages. Do I treat the CG or wait until spring for pre-emergent? Is dimension a good option here?

Fields 2-4: significant patches of cool season grass demise in primary bermudagrass. Variety of broadleaf weeds as well. I have no idea what to do first on these fields. Do I try to get the Bermuda to fill in first? Kill the broad leafs? Kill the cool season? Use pre-emergent for the Poa?

Any advise would be appreciated, and if I didn't post enough info, I will gladly post more. Thank you.

2. Tidewater Greenworks

Tidewater Greenworks LawnSite Member

Irrigated or not?

3. Coachbob

Coachbob LawnSite Member

Yes, all fields are irrigated with decent quality reclaimed water.

4. Todd KSD

Todd KSD LawnSite Member