bidding a residentail

larrylawns

LawnSite Member
just one guestion on bidding a new job. what is the right formula for giving a potental customer a price on a yard. some have told me by the hour for the crew or by the hour per person and some have told me a $1 per minute per person.as I've been doing this work for 25 yrs alott of people have told me every way possible i found some customers dont or wont pay by the hour and only want a set price for anything extra(trimming hedges,mulch etc)any advice will be much appreciated

weeze

LawnSite Fanatic
don't do anything extra without charging for it. don't work for free. price it by the hour but just tell them the final price not how much per hour. say they want the yard mowed, trimmed, and blown....and it takes 1 hr....charge them $50-$60 for the job. if they want mulch or trimming hedges then charge for those jobs depending on how long it takes. you don't just throw that in for free. if it takes 1 hr to trim the hedges and cleanup then charge them another $50-$60. and if it takes 1hr to mulch then charge yet another $50-$60.

justanotherlawnguy

LawnSite Bronze Member
If you've been doing this for 25 years, why are you asking for help on bidding a job?

I guess if you have not figured it out after 25 years, you will probably never figure it out!
Posted via Mobile Device

ReddensLawnCare

LawnSite Bronze Member
If you've been doing this for 25 years, why are you asking for help on bidding a job?

I guess if you have not figured it out after 25 years, you will probably never figure it out!
Posted via Mobile Device
The last three threads I have looked at, you have commented useless, negative, and pointless things. Why do you feel the need to comment? To the op, I'm afraid I don't really understand your question; are you asking how, how much, or what to charge?
Posted via Mobile Device

justanotherlawnguy

LawnSite Bronze Member