Calling it quits.....maybe.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by rixtag, Aug 27, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rixtag

rixtag LawnSite Senior Member
    from Lehi Ut

I've been cutting grass for more than 20 years. Never full time because I wanted to enjoy what I did and I still do very much. I have very loyal clientel and they are happy with the work. I'm at the point where it's going to take a decent investment in equipment because of age and wear and tear and that kind of thing. Everything runs and works but stuff wears out and I know in the next year or two it'll need replacing. I'm just not sure I want to put big money (for me) into something that I'm only going to do for maybe 2-3 more years. On the fence about it. Anybody been there?

2. weeze

weeze Banned

in the process of quitting myself after 10 years full time.

rixtag and agm like this.
  3. Matthews Lawn Care

Matthews Lawn Care LawnSite Silver Member

Have you heard from the pest company yet?

4. sjessen

sjessen LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from Knoxville, Tn

Good quality used stuff might work temporarily since you only want to go another couple of years. What equipment are you talking about? Mowers? Handhelds? Truck and/or trailer?

I am in the sunset years myself.

If you have cash in hand sometimes nearly new stuff can be had for 50% of new. Not often, but sometimes. If you were able to score a deal you could run it for a few years and still get most of your $ back out when you liquidate.

5. bluetruck

bluetruck LawnSite Senior Member