1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Catch up on the conversation with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, in the Franchising forum.

Dismiss Notice

Can it be done Part Time.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Tony_RHServices, Jun 17, 2008.

1. Tony_RHServices

Tony_RHServices LawnSite Member

I’m new to this and any input would be greatly appreciated.

I currently have a small Part Time home remolding business that is taking to much of my free time plus some customer shy away from a P/T because they don’t want to wait and it has been tough to get side work because of the commitment needed. I was thinking of starting a landscaping division. I understand that I would my customer base would need to be small. Can this be done part time and be done profitable?

2. jrdean62

jrdean62 LawnSite Member

I do landscape INSTALLS on the side and make good money. I would not try the lawn maint. side of the business due to the fact lawns need to be cut on a regular basis. With installs you can plan around your schedule. It may mean no weekends and long days but I make it work.

3. larryinalabama

larryinalabama LawnSite Fanatic

Im part time, I take in good money but this year its all going towards equiptment. If you have enough equi[ptment then yes you can be profitable. The biggest problem IM facing is high GAS prices, I can only do 3 to 4 yards an afternoon and have to drive 25 miles round trip, if I were full time I coluse do 8 to 12 yards using the same amount of gas in the truck.

4. mobileboy

mobileboy LawnSite Member