Charging a fee for design work.

MJK

LawnSite Senior Member
We used to offer free designs, then give a price for all the work in the design. This helped us win some projects. The problems is over time the cost of designing and not getting the job started to rise.

Over the last 2 seasons we started charging a design fee. I only charged my cost for the design to keep the price low. Now we are running into more and more people not even wanting to pay at all for the design. More and more contractors in our area are doing this for free.

I'm having a hard time implementing a good system for this service. Anyone care to share there plans?

DVS Hardscaper

LawnSite Fanatic
There's a lot of topics on this great forum covering this issue.

This is an area where I have been struggeling with for the last 5 years. And yeah, imagine being in this business for 16 years and the amount of time WASTED on dead end designs. I bore easily and I'm burned out from designing, which I'm actually a very good designer.

The bulk of the problem is the *other* contractors. So many of them NOT charging. They are so afraid of missing out on a sale. It's a rat race.

And the usual internet forum response is "set yourself apart from the competitors and sell yourself......" Or the "pre-qualify your callers"

So thats what I do, I educate the prospective client. And they usually comment that I was the most thorough contractor they met with and how impressed they are. And I still can't get them to pay for a design. "Well wait a minute, why should we pay for a design when the other two contractors aren't charging us?"

I've gotten a very sour attitude about doing designs, let alone for free. After 16 years, I don't need to practice designing. I have my own life to live. When there's a family and kids in the picture your whole outlook on everything changes tri-fold.