Charging for estimates?

Discussion in 'Bidding, Estimating and Pricing' started by WarriorLandscaping, Jul 31, 2019.

1. WarriorLandscaping

WarriorLandscaping LawnSite Senior Member
    Male

Hey guys, hope everyone's Summer has been good!

We are in a slow period due to the drought up here, going back to daily estimates which is a nice change.

We are a growing company with two crews so I feel free estimates may be a thing of the past.

Does your company charge for estimates? How do you reconcile this? Flat rate? Drive time?

Does charging for estimates ever turn customers away from you? Or does it attract them to you because it makes you look more professional,

Interested in your experiences.

Thank you

2. EricC

EricC LawnSite Senior Member

again, i'm no pro, just a homeowner. BUT, what is the service? an entire landscape design? mulching trees and mowing grass? For "most" services I'd have to say if someone charged me to have them come out and audition for a job I wouldn't even have them come out.

Now if it was come out and go over plans and design like architecture or something that's a different story.

for the most part, if you have someone that drives around and makes contact with perspective clients, just build it in to the cost of doing business and spread across all jobs. I think initial contact should always be "free". Come out and look, get an idea, talk to home owner, but after that level of service required for estimate may change if it's "free" or charged.

3. rclawn

rclawn LawnSite Senior Member

Do you apply the charge for estimate towards the total bill if they accept the work? That’s the only wayI think this would be reasonable. There’s a local guy that charges for estimates, I think something like $5 to give you a bid for mowing, $20 to measure for mulch or rock, more to suggest plants and edges for landscape etc. I kind of think it’s a rip off but if you are busy enough to be able to do it, why not

4. Wolfgang

Wolfgang LawnSite Member