Commercial Contracts

Discussion in 'Bidding, Estimating and Pricing' started by LeeJLLS, Jan 2, 2019.

1. LeeJLLS

LeeJLLS LawnSite Member

Landscaping property maintenance company located in Southern New England looking for direction when it comes to bidding on commercial properties. Do i go into this like it is a residential customer or does pricing become different ? Also if anyone has any examples to setting up a commercial contract. Thank you

2. Mownmachine144

Mownmachine144 LawnSite Senior Member

Interesting question. I have no experience with commercial contracts. Last year I just called around and asked if they needed service, it didn't work out to well.

zlandman likes this.
  3. Anthony Divit

Anthony Divit LawnSite Member
    from Pa

To get started you really have to know someone on the inside. If not you have to do a lot of work to get the chance. I knew someone who knew someone and five years later we are going to strong. You need to make sure your insurance is up to their standards. I priced it out like anything. Cover your expenses and have a profit. So many places go for the extra low price so it is very competitive and in a lot of instances it doesn't make sense. I have two commercial places. Both small and I make good money. Took a while to build up to that with them. I won't go after anymore places. If I was to lose them I would just focus on other accounts. So ask around because at some point someone knows someone. Have fun and if you break a window or door glass make sure a glass place is nearby because it will happen.

Mownmachine144 and hort101 like this.
  4. TPendagast

TPendagast LawnSite Fanatic
    Male

That’s a very tight market your dealing with in southern New England
    You have several entrenched players like eastern land management, Ivy League, green giant, bright view and landcare just to name a few.

Best thing at this point is to stick to the “walk Ins”