Cost for HUGE plant install... am I in the ballpark?

Will Fowler

LawnSite Member
Recently we have gotten the opportunity to bid a MASSIVE plant/mulch install job.(at least massive to me) We are a small company with a high end residential customer base.normally I would never consider bidding a job like this but...

it’s a brand new neighborhood going up 3 minutes away from our shop. We would be doing the entrance, a lot of buffer trees, and the landscape install on each house. We have done extremely well with the new neighborhoods around here so I only feel this would give us a lot of exposure and lead to even more work very close by for years to come.

Problem is I have no experience bidding plant jobs beyond bidding ones for residential customers. This job includes over 1,000 buffer trees, hundreds of shrubs around the houses, etc.

My first instinct is to go HIGH, like sky high to cover my ass and maybe I’ll get lucky, But with so many commercial based companies I know if I do that then we won’t even be in the ballpark. So that being said I’m trying to take this as seriously as possible, but in the end have no idea what the ballpark even is. Maybe I have no business bidding a job like this but hell why not try....