Cutting grass on the side

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Nicholas Voltaggio, Jul 2, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nicholas Voltaggio

Nicholas Voltaggio LawnSite Member

Hey,

I'm Nick, 27 years old and i'm a full-time college student as well as have a full-time job. I was looking into cutting grass, weed wacking, leaf blowing on the side for some extra money. I landscaped for 3 years and I was in charge of my boss's lawn care crew which was cutting grass everyday, 5 days a week. Currently saving money for the equipment but had a few questions.

1) I am trying to cut residential properties in my cul-de-sac with about 6-7 neighbors. Each house is about 1.5 acres or less (probably less). I've cut my own house with a zero turn mower and it takes me 15 mins tops. First question is do I need a commercial lawn mower for this or would a residential zero turn from home depot or lowes in the range of $2,500-3000 do the job? A friend told me to get a commercial lawn mower because the mower would be "running all day" but if i can do mine in about 15 mins and lets say I got 6 neighbors to say yes for me to cut their lawn (15 mins x 6 houses = 90 mins) Is a residential mower from home depot really going to have more wear and tear/not hold up as well from an hour and a half of cutting every week as opposed to a commercial one?

2) How much would I have to charge (1 neighbor currently gets his cut for $30)? What factors go into price? Looking to mow, weed whack, and leaf blow every house I do lawn care for. Not trying to make this a career just trying to make some extra money. Probably won't have the equipment until 2020 as i'm still saving money for the equipment.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, even advice for things I have not thought about.

2. Charles

Charles Moderator Staff Member