• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

Diiesel or Not?

MOturkey

LawnSite Silver Member
I'm planning on buying a new mower before the season starts to replace my oldest Gravely. I am considering trying one of the new Pro Turn models, but have some issues with the deck lift compared to the hydraulic system on the 260's I have been running for several years.

That brings me back to another 260, with which I've been quite satisfied. When talking to my dealer, he told me he "thinks" he ordered a diesel 260 because of a special promo they had if you bought so many mowers. He normally doesn't stock diesels because of the price difference. Anyway, he told me he could sell me the diesel for around $1,500 more than a gas model. I have never seriously considered a diesel before because of the tremendous difference in price on the Gravely's (around $2,800 the last time I inquired).

I'm thinking that for only $1,500 difference, that is the way I should go. If you could buy a diesel version of your favorite mower for that price difference, would you do so?

SouthSide Cutter

LawnSite Bronze Member
Dont like them because of weight and cost. And I dont know why alot of people on here think they need all this big HP we have now. Just doesnt make much sense to me.

IntegrityGuy

LawnSite Senior Member
If you dont have a diesel truck theres no reason to buy a diesel mower. If you have a diesel truck it makes it easyer and less confusing when filling up truck and mower.