1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Catch up on the conversation with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns in the Franchising forum plus sign up to receive a FREE eBook on how to grow your landscape business.

Dismiss Notice

DO NOT finance through Sheffield!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by hughmcjr, Apr 24, 2007.

1. hughmcjr

hughmcjr LawnSite Member
    from Oregon

I purchased a Hustler Super Z. Total bill was a little over 11k with bag vac system. I have financed through Sheffield Financial before, but am shocked at how they charge interest. They compound DAILY!

To put this in perspective on the amount I financed, I will be paying 2k in interest alone which on 12.95% interest rate is ridiculous to say the least. I am a business owner and understand about making a profit, but 1k dollars over the 36 months payment for just shuffling paper would be more than adequate. I am immediately paying off Sheffield with other financing and will save almost half the 2k.

I am just letting anyone know that isn't aware of interest compounding daily and how much of a scam it is. Sheffield is no friend to the landscape industry with those rates. Avoid them at all costs.:angry:

2. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

It doesn't matter what the compound interval is. If you look at the fine print you will see that the compound works out to an annual rate of 12.95%. The problem isn't the way they compound it, it's the 12.95% interest rate. Your loan should work out to $2333.27 in interest paid over the life of the loan.

The "extra" $1000 isn't a fee for doing the paperwork, it's what you have to pay to borrow their money.

3. nobagger

nobagger LawnSite Gold Member
    from Pa