Edging/mulching

Discussion in 'Bidding, Estimating and Pricing' started by Kwik10z, May 3, 2019.

1. Kwik10z

Kwik10z LawnSite Member

I got a call to give an estimate to edge and mulch a large residential property.

After measuring, it came to 945 linear feet of edging and 14 yards of mulch.

I quoted roughly $1800 (before tax) to do the job. I personally feel I am cheaper than most contractorsin my area, but I am somewhat new to the estimating process. The Customer said it was too high of a price, so I was curious as to what everyone would have charged to do this job?

The terrain is pretty flat so wheeling the mulch isn't much of an issue.

Thanks

2. Jeff@diyokc

Jeff@diyokc LawnSite Member

If you were using the col met metal edging ( let’s say retail from Lowe’s) your at $1064 just for the edging never mind the mulch or labor to pick up and install!

Obviously the plastic edging is cheaper and is just that, cheap!

To me, that’s too low, but not sure when you say edging, what your doing!

weeze likes this.
  3. Mac-s Lawn & Snow

Mac-s Lawn & Snow LawnSite Member

I think when the OP said edging he meant using an edger to turn the dirt over on the edge of a bed. Not a process I am familiar with but it is more common in the south and is used instead of plastic or metal edging. if thats the case 950 feet is quite a bit of it. I think your pricing is pretty good. Next time someone tells you your pricing is high ask them what then seems like a fair price. If they come back at $1200 for your $1800 bid then your just to far apart. Even if you negotiate to $1500 or $1600 keep in mind that they still might think its a $1200 job and might find a reason to not pay you in full. It has happened to me more than once.

Cam15 and Jeff@diyokc like this.
  4. Mudly

Mudly LawnSite Senior Member

I think he means trench edging like this. In my opinion that number seems super low. But he hasnt provided any further details of the job 20190424_172245.jpg 20190424_172236.jpg