Estimate Help When Using Skidsteer

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by Mark Stark, Apr 22, 2019.

1. Mark Stark

Mark Stark LawnSite Senior Member

Hey Everybody!

We have a client that would like an estimate on a cleanup for an overgrown portion of their yard. I'm planning on renting a Skidsteer for this project and I have limited experience using one. I'd love some information on what you guys think about my roughly laid plan. I'll try and add some pictures later.

Project:

Clear an area that is approximately 35' x 30'. Area is overgrown with Ivy, weeds, junk trees that are no more than 3" or so, a couple of bushes, etc. Some tall growth that runs about waist high covers a fair portion of this.

They'd like it cleared to bare dirt. They're considering planting grass or possibly adding a small patio area with the remainder grass. They have a crushed stone walkway that's not visible due to the overgrown mess going on. They want this saved and spruced up. We'd need to move the medium size rocks that line the walkway and bring in some additional crushed stone. Walkway is about 35' x 3'.

We'd want to use the Skid to pull some small stumps (3"-4") as well.

I'm not quite sure how long this will take so it's throwing me off a bit. Here's what I was thinking.......

Skidsteer: $350 (1) day
    Labor: Me + (1) employee @ 10 hrs on site (20 labor hours)
    Disposal: ?? The weight is going to be substantial. A roll off dumpster can hold 6000 lb and runs about $550. If I go 2" down (not sure if I need to), I'll be way over 6000 lbs.

I'm thinking $2400 for everything.

I think the labor is factored high but I want to be conservative on my numbers since I have limited expertise on the Skid. The biggest issue I see is disposal. We don't have any good areas for disposal for what's going to mostly amount to heavy soil. Our debris yards take leaves, brush, etc. but do not accept sod, dirt, etc.