Existing flagstone patio removal and re-set price???

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by G-Jacobsen, Mar 11, 2019.

1. G-Jacobsen

G-Jacobsen LawnSite Member

I am new to lawnsite.com forum but not new to hardscaping (this type of project I haven't done) and I had a question for some of the other experienced hardscapers. I have a customer that has 750 sq ft of existing flagstone patio dry set, with large gaps (poorly installed) and water pools in areas so it needs to be graded properly. So, I was figuring since I am pulling up larger 2x3 flagstone (roughly, some larger) and then grading and possibly adding in new base (I dont know what they put beneath it) and then grading, resetting and sweeping the joints, I figured this job would be a patio install price minus the flagstone cost. I am touching these monsters twice versus just grading the existing landscape and then installing a patio. Am I looking at this correctly? What would be your sq ft price range (I know everyone has different expenses). I'll tell you we usually hover around $15+/ sq ft for an install with materials, so I was thinking around $10-$12/sq ft for this project. I know this job will be a pain in the a**. Thanks!

2. hort101

hort101 LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from S.E. New England

So add a pita factor in price imo

You have 2 jobs demo and then what you normally would do if its bare ground new install might be a little less grading but as you said your handling the stones twice

all just my 2 cents

3. G-Jacobsen

Yep I agree, I think the sticker price is going to be a shocker for them but we have lots of contractors doing shoddy work here in New Mexico and we bid jobs to do it right the first time. Unfortunately we have to fix it and the PITA factor. I am thinking in the neighborhood of 9k for this job, would you agree?

BrandonV and hort101 like this.
  4. hort101

hort101 LawnSite Fanatic