Exmark radius s perplexing issue

Kentucky fan

LawnSite Member
Howdy folks I have a very annoying issue with a 2 year old radius s. This machine is a 2019 model with 110 hours on it as of the last mowing. This is the second season of use on this machine, it is a personal use machine (welder by trade) I mow around 6 acres weekly varying between flat ground and hills.

Here is the issue. With no rhyme or reason that I can see after around 1.5 - 2 hours of mowing the machine will start to randomly die requiring me to choke it and get off and back on the seat to restart mowing. With this being said it does not always do it sometimes it will go the entire 3.5 or so hour session with no issues. However after the first time it dies it increases in frequency until the mower is unusable.

Before anyone asks yes I am aware that this machine is under warranty. In fact it has been taken back to the dealer 4 times now with them unable to replicate the issue and replacement of multiple parts and attempted fixes that I will list momentarily. Last time they even got their factory rep to come give it a look. They are just as perplexed by this issue as I am.

Attempted fixes listed in order.

Checked coils
Replaced seat sensor
Replaced fuel pump
Checked carb
Checked wiring
Checked solenoid

Essentially everything electronic has been checked and cleared

Thinking it may have been a vapor lock issue they Replaced the breather to no effect.

Yesterday when mowing the machine started dieing at around half a tank so I filled it back up. Whether related or not I can't tell but the issue stopped for around 30 minutes but then started back worse than ever.