Expanding Business

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Devin Van Winkle, Oct 12, 2018.

1. Devin Van Winkle

Devin Van Winkle LawnSite Member

Hey guys, I am a new member here. I really like all the stuff I have been reading on here! It looks like there are a few experienced business owners on here that I would like this to reach out to.

I have been mowing as a side hustle for the last 5 years (I am 24). The last year and a half I started a LLC and started taking it to the next level. My full-time job is putting more responsibility on me, so I am not able to get out and finish jobs like I used to.

So my question is, would it be feasible to find 4-5 reliable guys to cover my contracts for me? I especially need help because I was just asked to mow 2 65+ acre complexes starting next year. Each paying out about $100K-$130K before expenses. Start-up costs scare me, and I want to make sure I will be able to treat my employees fairly and right! Any advice would be awesome!

Thanks,
    Devin

2. Mow-Daddy.com

Mow-Daddy.com LawnSite Platinum Member

Reliable guys/gals are out there.
    Finding and keeping them is the hardest part.
    What type of complexes are these?
    Housing, industrial, mowing trimming only?
    You can't just set 4 untrained workers into a large project and tell them how you want it done.
    Either yourself, or a well trained Forman needs to be on-site. Every time. Also with grinding out 130 acres weekly there will be equipment problems. So you will want backups of handhelds for sure. And at least 1 backup mower and a mechanic you can call on in a moments notice.
    If 65 acres gets a few days behind ever, your in for a workout.
    What is your general location?
    Ah, and welcome aboard.

3. Devin Van Winkle