First commercial job

Crazyplantchic

LawnSite Member
Hello all, I am Kimberly and I have been doing my own yards for several years but just started doing yards for other people last year. I do custom beds, not lawn care. I always have a difficult time coming up with prices. When I do a bed for someone it's from the ground up. I generally build the bed, fill the bed and plant the bed with plants I grow myself. I never gave a thought to just how much goes into it until I did it for someone else for money. Last week I had the chance to bid on a small commercial job and I am very curious about how far off or right on my proposal was.. The job is as follows: fill the ends of an oblong shaped pre-existing bed with annuals. This bed is at the entrance of a neighborhood. Each end is 96 square feet, and ready to plant. Using a plant calculator grid, I figured up the number of plants I would need. I used Lowe's prices as a standard and added 30%. I gave myself 2 days to do it, and charged $40 an hour. I wasn't sure how to figure up my profit margin so I added these 2 numbers and added 10 percent. Those numbers are as follows:
Plants: retail plus 30%= $1,092.00
Hourly wage: $640.00
Profit margin: $175.00
Total rounded down: $ 1,700.00

This job would be so easy compared to what I normally do that I keep second guessing myself. Not hearing anything back for several days also has me wondering if my bid was crazy high. I am in Columbia, South Carolina. Attached you will find the bed ends in question. I'm very grateful for any advice you will offer. Thanks so much!

Attachments

• IMG_20210830_140940.jpg
    IMG_20210830_140940.jpg
    84.3 KB · Views: 73
  • IMG_20210830_141033.jpg
    IMG_20210830_141033.jpg
    109.8 KB · Views: 67

cool breeze

LawnSite Senior Member