1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Catch up on the conversation about fertilization strategies for success with the experts at Koch Turf & Ornamental in the Fertilizer Application forum.

Dismiss Notice

First organic aeration/seed

Discussion in 'Organic Lawn Care' started by slickcav, Oct 3, 2017.

1. slickcav

slickcav LawnSite Member

We have a good rain coming up and I plan on fall aerating and overseeding. I have not had a chance to grab core samples and send off to lab, with that being said, what would be your recommendation for what would be in the synthetic world the seed/fertlizer process.

I was thinking compost top dress would be appropriate?

Also I am not sure which seed to use and have a seed question:

My yard is kentucky tall fescue, but there are areas that end up getting alot more sun than others and even with deep irrigating the grass will still brown.

There are so many seed mixtures/hybrids and I am still new to it all, what would be some recommendations for drought/hard sun exposure resistant seeds? The rutgers guideline "Recommended – Turfgrass Selection Full sun – Use blends or mixtures containing improved varieties of tall fescue, Kentucky bluegrass and/or perennial ryegrass. Select low maintenance fine fescues and tall fescues to reduce inputs of fertilizers and irrigation water (Murphy, 1996, and Park and Murphy, 2012, respectively)."

2. phasthound

phasthound LawnSite Fanatic

Since you are quoting Rutgers, is it correct to assume you are in NJ?
    I suggest you visit your local SiteOne for a sun mix of TTTF, Perennial Rye and KBG. Ask for Screamin 8 starter fertilizer and topdress with compost.

Are you sure your turf is not turning brown due to a disease?

On a call likes this.
  3. slickcav

slickcav LawnSite Member

I am located just outside of Delaware in Maryland.

Could be disease?

4. phasthound